Home » Defining and labeling soy ingredients
Defining and labeling soy ingredients
Q: What is the difference between soy gluten and soy protein? Does each ingredient need to be declared separately on the label?
A: Kantha Shelke responds:
Gluten is a protein group found primarily in wheat and is made up of two other proteins – glutenin and gliadin. Gluten is typically formed upon the addition of water and develops when mixed with water. Wheat, durum wheat, triticale, and rye are best known for their high gluten contents. When developed, gluten helps form the structure of bread dough, entraps carbon dioxide produced during fermentation, and lends bread its characteristic elastic and extensible textures.
To the best of my knowledge, soy does not contain any gluten. In fact, it is because soy is gluten-free that formulators use soy protein to augment the elasticity and extensibility of breads and other foods made without wheat, durum, triticale or rye. This is particularly important for individuals with celiac sprue – a condition that has little or no tolerance for even small traces of gluten.
So, in answer to your question, soy protein would have to be declared on the label. It would help to know the source of gluten in your formulation, as it is not likely from soy.
Access Food Processing and Wellness Foods magazines on-line and receive an e-mail each month when your new issue is ready. Subscribe Now »
Biweekly updates delivering feature articles, top industry news, company news, product announcements, technical issues and more. Subscribe Now »