Business Strategies / Industry News

North American Meat Institute Honors Six Industry Leaders

By Dave Fusaro, Editor in Chief

Jan 29, 2016

Jim Lochner, former chief operating officer of Tyson Foods Inc., received the E. Floyd Forbes Award for accomplishments and strong commitment to the meat industry at the North American Meat Institute's (NAMI) inaugural awards ceremony Jan. 27.

Sheldon Lavin, chairman and CEO of OSI Group LLC, was given the Edward C. Jones Community Service Award for active participation in charitable organizations in the Chicago metropolitan area and the international communities in which OSI operates.

The awards were given at a luncheon at the 2016 International Production and Processing Expo (IPPE) in Atlanta, of which NAMI is a sponsor.

Kerri Gehring, associate professor in the Dept. of Animal Science at Texas A&M University and president of the International HACCP Alliance, was honored with the Industry Advancement Award for her contributions in the areas of animal and food science education and research, which have had a significant and positive impact on the meat and poultry industry.

Joseph Sebranek, distinguished professor of animal science at Iowa State University, received the Harry L. Rudnick Educator’s Award in recognition of his role as an educator of future industry leaders and his extensive research, which has advanced the meat and poultry industry’s food safety and quality management systems.

Mohammad Koohmaraie, CEO of the meat division at IEH Laboratories, received the NAMI Foundation Scientific Achievement Award. The Supplier of the Year Award was presented to JBT Corp./Wolf-tec for the company’s spirit of partnership with its customers and contribution to the success of the meat and poultry industry through advanced and innovative equipment design and production.